..I Am So Much More Than Just A Teacher..


Okay it’s not me in the picture but it really reflects how I feel at the end of almost each day..

The other day I was having a chat with a friend of mine and when he asked me how things were, I told him how tired I get at times.

And he said. ‘You get tired? Doing what? Teaching? You call that tiring?‘ And he went on saying his work is way more tiring than mine. Actually he thinks his job is the most tiring one in the whole world. What’s his job? Well, he is a reporter. Anyways.

I am not saying or claiming that being a teacher is the most challenging and tiring job one can do. But I just CAN’T take it when people underestimate the things we- teachers – do..

In addition to everything we do at school, outside the school maybe we do even more!

Don’t you think so ?

I mean even when I’m enjoying a song, a video, a movie, a poem or anything.. After the very first second, I stop watching it for myself and try to find ways how to use it in the classroom.

And I’m sure I’m not the only one doing this..

We leave our schools in the afternoons or in the evenings or whatever.. but we bring our students, our lessons with us to our houses, don’t we?

So..  I am so proud to say…..

I AM SO MUCH MORE THAN JUST A TEACHER

Much more than a teacher? Well, the poster below will tell you more about it..

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Nice poster isn’t it! It really motivates me when I need it..

 I know most of you will agree that we teachers do a great deal of work.. We know it, our students know and feel it..

At the end of the day.. that’s what counts..

And before I go, here is a video I watched today in the morning.. I really liked it.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Thank you for stopping by!🙂

11 Comments Add yours

  1. If you really care about what you do and the people you help, then it’s going to be tiring – but worth it🙂

  2. Totally agree!
    If you are a teacher and you get tired, it shows that you do a good job!
    Thanks for you comment Richard🙂

  3. dluisa says:

    Loved your post and the video too. I don’t teach full time, just as a substitute to adult learners and a a volunteer Reader to a 6 year old ESL student and I am tired after each teaching/tutoring session. I enjoy every minute of what I am doing, but it’s like learning a new language, our brains get tired after so much focus. And I agree with you. I tend to do constant research online everyday and think of how I can help my students improve in learning. I love to be a teacher! It’s the best job out there.🙂 Thanks for sharing. I am enjoying reading and investigating your blog. Keep on blogging.

  4. Hello Dear Luisa. Good to see you here on my blog🙂
    And great to hear you love every minute of your teaching.. It tells me more about you..

  5. Hi Nihal,
    Loved your post as I think it may inspire many a younger teacher who is still trying to come to grips with the profession and their careers. Will share it with our teachers.
    Thanks
    Valéria

  6. Hello Valeria,
    Glad to hear you like it! Well, Let me know what they think🙂
    Best regards
    Nihal

  7. You are in good company! Every teacher knows what you mean! But its addictive – I can’t imagine doing anything else!
    Naomi

  8. It is addictive yes. And I’ll second you. I can’t imagine doing anything else as well.
    I L-O-V-E being a teacher🙂
    Thanks for your comment Naomi!

  9. davedodgson says:

    Hi Nihal,

    Thinking about lessons all the time and getting ideas for class from the most unlikely places – I call it “a bad habit that all good teachers have”😀

  10. Hi Dave!
    Good definition, like it!
    I follow your blog and I guess we kinda wrote similar posts🙂
    Thanks for stopping by!

  11. ashok says:

    Thank you………………I liked your “I am so much more then a teacher…………….”

Please share what you think

