Mingling With The Stars Part II – Jeremy Harmer


I can hear you say…

‘ I thought I was going to read about Jeremy Harmer.. So where does this unhappy girl come from all of a sudden? ‘

Dear reader,

That is a picture of me taken almost 4 years ago right before the micro-teaching I was supposed to do for the Teaching Skills lesson..

Still what does it have to do with Jeremy Harmer ?

♦ ♦ ♦

Well .. That year was the year I heard his name for the very first time. His ‘How To Teach’ book was our best friend for a whole school year while we were taking ‘ Teaching Skills ‘ classes at the university. Between you and me , we –me and my classmates- didn’t like Her, those days. She was a hard one to understand, and this was enough for us to hate her. Looking back, I can easily say that we didn’t really get what she was trying to say..

Even though we weren’t the best friends at those days, I know that we are NOW. And only now I truely understand her when we talk from time to time..

And Jeremy Harmer .. He was only an author for me back then. I didn’t know he was also a poet, musician (check his pictures), teacher trainer, conference presenter, seminar leader and and many other things..

♦ ♦ ♦

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

♦ ♦ ♦

If you want to know a little more about his life before ELT, you can go and check his website.

Enough of my talk. It’s high time to watch the interview. But one thing I should tell you before watching it -. As it was the coffee break right after his talk, there were lots of people around- . I admit that the sound quality is not the best, but it is still worth watching!🙂

PS: Compared to my Luke Prodromou interview, you’ll find that I have less strange moves. But this time I was very quick asking questions as we didn’t want to miss Ken Wilson’s talk! All was in a hurry, but I hope you like it!

♦ ♦ ♦

♦ ♦ ♦

In February, I was amazed by his performance ‘Bent and broken into a better shape: the magical storytelling of Charles Dickens’ . If you haven’t watched it, here it is !

Bent and broken into a better shape: the magical storytelling of Charles Dickens

♦ ♦ ♦

 

Thank you for stopping by !🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Brad Patterson says:

    Another great interview. Fun to hear how Jeremy got started down the path of material developping and to see that parrallel in the field today: hunger for better teaching, and I’d say there’s a very ‘caring’ element involved. Teachers want their students to excel and enjoy class so they’re always looking for something just a bit better.

    Thanks Nihal and Jeremy!

  2. Teachers want their students to excel and enjoy class so they’re always looking for something just a bit better.

    Exactly, Brad! Teachers (good ones) always go for MORE..
    Thank you for the comment and have a great time there in China!😉

Please share what you think

