Mingling With The Stars Part I – Luke Prodromou


∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

This interview thing.. like Jeremy Taylor said, it was like being with the stars!

It all started when I wanted to write a guest post on Ken Wilson’s blog. The plan was to interview him and then post it. After some brainstorming, he encouraged me to interview L. Prodromou and J.Harmer as well.. I sent an e-mail to them and both agreed. Thank you guys! And Thank you J.Taylor for giving me a title for the post!

Well.. So here I am.. writing the first interview post..

I asked these three amazing men the same questions and did it outside the walls as we wanted it to be as natural as it can be. That is why you will sometimes hear some other people laughing or talking .. just ignore them!

So here we go…

∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

Right before the interview

It was Friday evening that I really started to feel nervous as I was going to interview Luke Prodromou, Jeremy Harmer and Ken Wilson the very next day.. I had the chance to listen to and exchange couple words with J. Harmer and K. Wilson once in 2010.

But Luke Prodromou.. Even though I read his work on some websites, I’ve never seen him or listened to any of his talks before until that day.. This fact – of course – didn’t help me to feel any better.

On Saturday morning, we finally met. As soon as I introduced myself to him right after his pleanary, he did his best to comfort me and all my worries were gone. We had the lunch together, attended a workshop and finally did the interview. It was wonderful to talk about teaching, and even better- just random stuff!

I will cut it short, so you can watch the video! I could ask questions about ELT.. But you can easily find out their ideas on teaching just reading their blogs or listening to their talks or simply just reading their books.. So that’s why I asked these questions. What are they? Well, click and see it yourself.. I hope you like it!

PS: I was super excited so please ignore my weird moves🙂

∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

One thing I want to share ..

Luke Prodromou is a foundee- member of the Disabled Access-Friendly campaign. You can go and check the website, Disabled Access-Friendly, which provides teachers with free teaching material that can be used in class, for projects or examination practice, but at the same time stimulates students to put themselves in the shoes of someone with a mobility/disability, for a better understanding of their needs and feelings.

∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

Next interview post will be about Jeremy Harmer..

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Bravo – I enjoyed listening to the interview. I was especially pleased to hear that Luc still feels nervous before addressing an audience. It kind of gives hope to us lesser mortals🙂 I have enjoyed some of his talks, and you’d never think that was the case.

  2. Thank you Elizabeth! I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    Well, I guess it doesn’t matter how well you are prepared or how experienced you are, you still get nervous which maybe shows the fact that you care what you do..
    This was the first time I had the chance to listen to his talk and I really enjoyed watching and listening to him. A great speaker!

  3. It is a very good interview and its informality is amazing and friendly to listen to. I have
    appreciated the conversation about his memory and his practical attitude in teaching,
    Thank you Luisa

  4. Dear Luisa, such nice words to hear.. That was what I intended to do.. informality and friendly.. Good to find out that I succeded. Thank you!

  5. Great interview.

    Thanks for sharing, Nihal and great to hear your voice! “How to be a boring teacher”… wish I could’ve been there to catch Luke’s first conference talk!😉

    Look forward to catching the other interviews with Ken and Jeremy. Cheers, Brad

    1. Merci Brad!
      I’m glad you like both the video and my voice :p
      Yes, I wish I could have listened to that talk!
      Next week, I’ll post Jeremy’s interview so stay tuned.
      NY

  6. Marcia Lima says:

    Hi Nihal, many thanks for bringing Luke to us, all over the world. Looking forward to your next interviews.

    1. Hello Marcia!
      I’m happy that you like it! And yes very soon it’s Jeremy Harmer time.
      Thank you for the comment!

  7. Cool moves, Nihal!🙂

    Can’t wait for the Jezza Harmer interview

  8. Bren, Thank you! Both for the comment and saying ‘cool moves’!
    Soon you’ll see a cool guy and a weird girl🙂

Please share what you think

