…Valentine Rhymes & Animal Valentines 4 YL …


Tomorrow is the big day- for many..

And if you- like me– love using songs in your classroom, you will enjoy these rhymes..

If you’ve been teaching young learners for some time now, you are probably familiar with the tunes. But if you don’t, just go youtube for the original tunes to have an idea..

***

A Little Piece of Lace
(to the tune of “I’m a Little Hunk of Tin”)
________________________________________
Just a little piece of lace,
Glue it ’round a red heart shape.
Now, add words so sweet and true,
A special message — “I love you.”

Pretty, pretty, pretty, pretty Valentine!
Please, oh please, won’t you be mine?

[][][][][]

Be My Valentine
(to the tune of “Mary Had A Little Lamb”)
________________________________________
You’re a special friend of mine,
Friend of mine, friend of mine.
You’re a special friend of mine.
Please be my valentine.

[][][][][]

Five Pretty Valentines
(Fingerplay; Original Author Unknown)
________________________________________

Five pretty valentines sitting in the store,
[Child’s name] bought one, and then there were four.

Four pretty valentines left on the shelf,
[Child’s name] bought one, and then there were three.

Three pretty valentines waiting for a home,
[Child’s name] bought one, and then there were two.

Two pretty valentines standing side by side,
[Child’s name] bought one, and then there was one.

One pretty valentine left all alone
[Child’s name] bought that valentine, and all were gone.

[][][][][]

H-E-A-R-T
(to the tune of “B-I-N-G-O”)
________________________________________
There is a shape; it stands for love,
And “heart” is its name.
H-E-A-R-T
H-E-A-R-T
H-E-A-R-T
And “heart” is its name.

[][][][][]

HEART
(can be sung to the tune of BINGO)

________________________________________
To show you like your special friend,
Just give them each a heart,
H. E. A. R. T, H. E. A. R. T, H. E. A. R. T,
Each heart says I like you.

[][][][][]

If You Want to Show Your Love
(to the tune of “If Your’re Happy and You Know It”)
________________________________________
If you want to show your love, share a smile.
If you want to show your love, share a smile.
If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love,
If you want to show your love, share a smile.

If you want to show your love, lend a hand.
If you want to show your love, lend a hand.
If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love,
If you want to show your love, lend a hand.

If you want to show your love, use kind words.
If you want to show your love, use kind words.
If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love,
If you want to show your love, use kind words.

[][][][][]

I’m A Little Valentine
(to the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)
________________________________________
I’m a little valentine,
Can’t you see?
All decorated,
I’m pretty as can be.
I say, “I love you!”
And “Won’t you be mine?”
So give me to a friend.
Oh, don’t waste time!

[][][][][]

Making Valentines
(to the tune of “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”)
________________________________________
I’m making a pretty card.
I’m making a pretty card.
I’m making a pretty card
To give to my love.

I’ll neatly write, “I love you!”
I’ll neatly write, “I love you!”
I’ll neatly write, “I love you!”
“Oh, won’t you be mine?”

I’ll trim it with lots of lace.
I’ll trim it with lots of lace.
I’ll trim it with lots of lace,
and a big, pretty bow.

I’ll stick it in an envelope.
I’ll stick it in an envelope.
I’ll stick it in an envelope,
And seal it with love.

[][][][][]

Please Be Mine
(to the tune of “Row, Row, Row Your Boat”)
________________________________________
Oh how I want you
for my Valentine!
Here’s a card I made for you.
Won’t you please be mine?

Look, listen, and you’ll see
How much I like you!
Tell me now, oh tell me please,
That you like me too.

[][][][][]

Ten Pretty Valentines
(to the tune of “Ten Little Indians”)
________________________________________
One pretty, two pretty, three pretty valentines;
Four pretty, five pretty, six pretty valentines;
Seven pretty, eight pretty, nine pretty valentines;
Ten pretty valentines!

[][][][][]

The Valentine Song
(to the tune of “Mary Had A Little Lamb”)
________________________________________
Valentines say, “I love you!”
“I love you!” “I love you!”
Valentines say, “I love you!”
“I really, really do!”

[][][][][]

Will You Be My Valentine?
(to the tune of “London Bridge Is Falling Down”)
________________________________________
Will you be my valentine?
Valentine? Valentine?
Will you be my valentine
On this special day?

[][][][][]

If you are planning to do some arts & crafts with your young students, try these animal valentines..

So glad you're in my school

***

Whale you be my Valentine?

***

Buzzing by with a Valentine's Hi!

***

I'm bananas over you

***

Won't ewe be my Valentine?

***

Bee mine, Valentine

***

***

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY !!

Please share what you think

