…Different Colors of Violets…


***

One of the symbols of Valentine’s Day is ‘roses’. And when I say Valentine’s Day and roses, I immediately think of the ‘Roses are red.. Violets are blue’ rhymes..

Violets are blue, but not always.. Here are some other colors of violets..

***

Roses are red,

Violets are pink,

I open my eyes and then I blink,

It’s true….it’s love….it’s you.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are white,

I just wanna love you with all my might.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are yellow,

Being with you, makes me happy and mellow.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

I’ve never seen anyone as beautiful as you.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are lavendar,

I miss you,

Until I see you again,

I’m marking my calendar.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are gray,

Simply having you in my life makes my day.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are green,

You’re the love of my life so you know what that means?

I pretty darn lucky.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

The first time I saw you, my heart knew.

***

Roses are red,

Violets are pink,

It’s a good thing, because you know what I think…..

I love you.

***

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Nihal – so creative but simple, and beautiful of course – have you tried it as a lesson idea? Jus a thought as well, have you thought of putting the poems into a wordle to get some nice visual representations http://www.wordle.net

  2. Hi there!
    Haven’t tried it yet but I am planning something.. I’ll put these rhymes on the message board we have, students will read them on Monday, pick a small paper from the jar with a friend name on it and make a Valentine card for that friend. They will decide which ryhme to write according to the name they will pick.. Again simple.. Something I came up with while watching birds today :p Don’t ask me how..

    I wrote a post about using Word Clouds in classroom.. but didn’t even think about using it for Valentine’s Day🙂 So thank you for the inspiration and the comment..

Please share what you think

