Santa, beware of the pigs!!


“Little pig, little pig, let me come in.”
“No, no, not by the hair on my chinny chin chin.”
“Then I’ll huff, and I’ll puff, and I’ll blow your house in.”

Do you remember these lines from somewhere?

If you did or are still teaching children, you are probably familiar with the story ‘The Three Little Pigs and The Big Bad Wolf’ in which a big, bad wolf threatens to destroy the homes of three individual pigs..

So far I used it both as a story to tell and a nursery rhyme to sing. And today while I was listening to some music on youtube, I came across this video below. You start watching it, and see that its the same old story. But soon you discover that something is different this time. Santa also shows up! Have a look.

Such a sad end..
But also funny !!
After watching this, the only thing I could think of was to take this video to the class and share it with my students.

This one was just a wonderful match as they’ ve just learnt the Christmas and New Year vocabulary. My students already know the story which makes things a little easier and maybe a little more meaningful. Anyways. First we did a quick revision about the characters and what happens in the story. Later on as a pre-viewing activity, I told that this story was different and asked them to jot down what could be different from the original story and what other things they would see in the video. Then I started it. Everything was going according to the story. Pigs running away from the bad wolf.

To do a while-viewing activity, I stopped the video just before one of the pigs opened the pot lid. I asked them the classic ‘What’s next?’ question. They all thought it was the bad wolf inside the pot (like I did when I first watched the video) and we talked about the feelings of the pigs and the wolf.

When I pressed the play button, and as soos as they saw the presents and recognised it was not the wolf inside the pot, they all went: ‘Oh, no Santa!’

In the second view, right after the pig opened the pot lid, I paused the video couple times so they could say what they saw inside the pot. And after this, we again talked about the feelings of the pigs, wolf and reindeers.

As a homework they will draw a picture showing what will happen now. And later on I am planning to use ‘The Wolf’s side of the story’ as a reading activity.

Yesterday this video literally made my day. Kids loved it and were very engaged in the activity. When the video finished, they wanted to see it again and again. As a teacher for me it was a good video activity to revise the vocabulary they’ve learnt this week, and for them it was a cartoon watching in the class with friends more than a lesson. So the video served well for the both sides.

If you are interested in the story, you might wanna have a look at;
The Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Wolf Story
http://math-www.uni-paderborn.de/~odenbach/pigs/pigs.html

A video by Debbie and Friends http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WR4L_t6IAfc

The Wolf’s side of the story http://www.shol.com/agita/wolfside.htm

Cheers!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved the video, and the activities! I wish I was teaching young learners! Thank you for sharing🙂

  2. It’s lovely, isn’t it? I am 26 but can watch it anytime🙂
    Happy New Year!

Please share what you think

