Open Your Heart ..


I came across this dialog on http://www.apples4theteacher.com while I was searching for some New Year’s ideas for my class.

It is actually a poem but could be used in many other ways as well. It goes like this:

THE NEW YEAR

MORTAL:

‘The night is cold, the hour is late, the world is bleak and drear;
Who is it knocking at my door?’

THE NEW YEAR:
“I am Good Cheer.”

MORTAL:
“Your voice is strange; I know you not; in shadows dark I grope.
What seek you here?”

THE NEW YEAR:
“Friend, let me in; my name is Hope.”

MORTAL:
“And mine is Failure; you but mock the life you seek to bless. Pass on.”

THE NEW YEAR:
“Nay, open wide the door; I am Success.”

MORTAL:
“But I am ill and spent with pain; too late has come your wealth. I cannot use it.”

THE NEW YEAR:
“Listen, friend; I am Good Health.”

MORTAL:
“Now, wide I fling my door. Come in, and your fair statements prove.”

THE NEW YEAR:
“But you must open, too, your heart, for I am Love.”

It is nice, isnt’ it ?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I like that…might have to steal this off you…a nice poem to act out! Who’s it by? In fact, have just posted another dialogue poem called ‘The Little Boy and the Old Man’, by Shel Silverstein.

  2. It is by Ella Wheeler Wilcox .. And I’ve just checked yours. A nice one!! Loved it.

Please share what you think

